Click on the arrow above to watch the video of the entire conference.

Ottawa, Thursday, June 27, 2013
Barney Danson Theatre, Canadian War Museum

Ottawa hosts the CANADA 150 / 2017 STARTS NOW summary event, the final in a series of nationwide conferences in preparation for Canada’s 150th anniversary. Be inspired by artistic performances and speakers from the region and across the country as they present their big ideas for the 150th anniversary of Confederation. A summary of the ideas generated by this conference series will also be presented.


Bruce Croxon

Bruce CroxonCo-founder Round 13 Capital, and Dragons' Den judge

View Biography VidéoVIEW VIDEO
Philippe De Gaspé Beaubien

Philippe De Gaspé Beaubien Co-Chair and Co-Founder, Business Families Foundation

View Biography VidéoVIEW VIDEO
Cindy Doire

Cindy DoireSinger/Songwriter

View Biography
Sonnet L'Abbé

Sonnet L'Abbé Poet and critic

View Biography VideoVIEW VIDEO
Chantal Petitclerc

Chantal PetitclercGold Medalist, Paralympian Athlete

View Biography VidéoVIEW VIDEO
Jowi Taylor

Jowi TaylorCEO and founder, Six String Nation

View Biography VidéoVIEW VIDEO
Lynda Thalie

Lynda ThalieAlgerian-born Canadian Singer/Songwriter

View Biography VidéoVIEW VIDEO


Daniel Thibeault

Daniel Thibeault Parliamentary correspondant, Radio-Canada

View Biography
Evan Solomon

Evan SolomonJournalist and anchor of CBC News Network's Power & Politics with Evan Solomon and CBC Radio One's The House

View Biography

As well as remarks from: The Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, Jean-Marc Blais, Director General, Canadian Museum of Civilization, Barbara McInnes – President and CEO, Community Foundation of Ottawa, Jim Watson, Mayor, City of Ottawa, Marc Bureau, Mayor, City of Gatineau, Chorale De La Salle, with Artistic Director Robert Filion.

Conference series partners also spoke: Hubert T. Lacroix, President and CEO, CBC/Radio-Canada, Ian Bird, President and CEO, Community Foundations of Canada, Yves Desjardins-Siciliano, Chief Legal and Corporate Affairs Officer, Corporate Secretary, VIA Rail Canada.

Photo Gallery